Question about West End tenements...

Moderators: John, Sharon, Fossil, Lucky Poet, crusty_bint, Jazza, dazza

Question about West End tenements...

Postby westender » Thu Jul 08, 2004 4:13 pm

Okay, maybe somebody here knows.
Many moons ago when I was a student living in bedsit land, I stayed in a basement flat in Kersland Street. This was in a row of traditional red sandstone tenements; there were closes and main door flats in the block. I wasn't up a close: I stayed in a basement flat, but to get to the basement you had to go through the main door flat, the one on ground level - and the stairs down to the basement were inside the main door flat.

Thing is, both the upstairs and the downstairs flats were exactly the same. Two huge rooms with bay windows at the front, looking onto the street, and two big bedrooms, kitchen and bathroom. The only difference was that the ceilings of the basement rooms were lower than upstairs, but in all other respects they were two identically laid out flats.

This has always puzzled me. Who were these main door flats originally designed for? When I was there all the rooms were occupied by students, upstairs and downstairs; but there's no way that the downstairs flat could have built as servants' quarters, which is one suggestion I've heard. They are basically two identical family homes, as far as I could see - except the only way to access the basement is through the main door house upstairs. And the only way the folks upstairs can take the rubbish down to the bins at the back is to come downstairs, through the basement flat.

Can anyone explain this strange layout? One main entrance to what is essentially two separate houses?
westender
Just settling in
Just settling in

Postby My Kitten » Thu Jul 08, 2004 5:19 pm