Glasgow Central Station

Moderators: John, Sharon, Fossil, Lucky Poet, crusty_bint, Jazza, dazza

Glasgow Central Station

Postby ianmcmillan » Tue Jun 01, 2004 11:58 pm

Hi all,

I'm not sure if this is on-topic or not, please tell me if it is not!

Here is the pathetic excuse for the departures board at Glasgow Central today:

ianmcmillan
First Stripe
First Stripe

Postby james73 » Wed Jun 02, 2004 1:26 pm

Cant see any picture there Ian. :?

James H
He's over there...
james73
Third Stripe
Third Stripe

Postby ianmcmillan » Wed Jun 02, 2004 1:49 pm

Try again now, I made a big boo boo there!
ianmcmillan
First Stripe
First Stripe

Postby KonstantinL » Wed Jun 02, 2004 2:17 pm

Living in Motherwell when I went into Glasgow on the train we would always get off at Argyle Street. Then as a student I always used to get the early bus into town and the last one back. As a result I'd never been to Glasgow Central until I was about 19!
KonstantinL
Second Stripe
Second Stripe

Postby nodrog » Wed Jun 02, 2004 4:59 pm

I hate the new board as well - the text is far far too small - you used to be able to read the departures easily - and quickly- when coming in the main Gordon St entrance.

Opera glasses are now required to do the same thing!
"I'd just move on to the 'hot-air ballooning vigilante' stage of my career earlier than planned"

www.scottishcinemas.org.uk
www.twitter.com/scottishcinemas
nodrog
Third Stripe
Third Stripe

Postby james73 » Wed Jun 02, 2004 7:27 pm

That board is awful. What was wrong with the big dot-matrix one??

Mind you, I remember the original 'Departure Boards' on the windows above
the building where all the shops are now, to the right hand side of that image. ::):

It's a restaurant now or something, innit?

James H
He's over there...
james73
Third Stripe
Third Stripe

Postby cumbo » Wed Jun 02, 2004 9:05 pm

The new departure boards :roll: have caused a few visets to speck savers. 8O