Mechanic Advice Please...

Moderators: John, Sharon, Fossil, Lucky Poet, crusty_bint, Jazza, dazza

Mechanic Advice Please...

Postby oddjobby » Wed Mar 23, 2011 10:30 pm

Hi guys,

I wondered if anyone knew anything about braking systems on cars. My mechanic is telling me that I need this that and the other to fix the brakes on my car, and my basic knowledge of how brakes work, the symptoms of the problem and what he is suggesting just doesn't add up in my head and I'm concerned he's trying to get a brucey bonus through me.

My car had an arguement with a traffic island at 40mph last August, and instead of claiming my insurance, I decided to have it repaired myself. My wheels and tyres were gubbed as well my brakes, track rod ends etc. I bought new alloys and tyres, and had the work done at the garage that I have been using for the past ten years. I told him what had happened and said 'whatever it needs to put it right, just do it'. So he did the work that he said was needed.

The car has never been right since, but in fairness I didn't expect it to drive the same, and that's what I had put it down to. Over the past few months my brakes have been a bit hairy (they should still be like new really) and occasionally only the abs would kick in during normal braking/parking. This gradually got worse until the abs worked but the actual brakes were less and less effective. There was also a burning smell during driving.

My mechanic has now said that I need 2 new ABS rings, and they are only available new, attached to a cv joint. So in essence, I need two new cv joints to fix my brakes. Surely if the ABS had been at fault, my brakes would still have worked?

Thanks in advance for any help. It just doesn't sit right in my head and I want to be sure that this is the solution to the problem instead of constant trips to the garage like I have been :)
www.soulsearchers.org.uk
oddjobby
Second Stripe
Second Stripe

Re: Mechanic Advice Please...