143 Oxford Street "The Chateau"

Moderators: John, Sharon, Fossil, Lucky Poet, crusty_bint, Jazza, dazza

143 Oxford Street "The Chateau"

Postby DappDapp » Sat Oct 10, 2009 2:50 am

Hello
I'm an Interior Architecture Student at Edinburgh Napier Uni.
I'm using 142 Oxford street, as a host building for my major project. "also known as "the chateau" Franz Ferdinand studio later Art collective etc.

http://www.glasgow.gov.uk/NR/rdonlyres/ ... dgeStr.jpg

And was wondering if anyone has any stock photos from "The Chateau" Especially interested in the roof extension,
or any Interior views from it.

Stories to share or anything about it would be most welcome as well.

Thanks
DappDapp
Just settling in
Just settling in

Re: 143 Oxford Street "The Chateau"

Postby Josef » Sat Oct 10, 2009 7:49 am

One of my favourite Glasgow buildings. I'd be interested to see anything you can come up with.

I didn't know it had been used for those purposes. I have a tenuous connection with the FFs that I suppose I could pursue to see if they have any photos that they're willing to share, if no-one has any more direct route...
Josef
Third Stripe
Third Stripe

Postby Fossil » Sat Oct 10, 2009 8:02 am

good luck getting in
Bum tit tit bum tit tit play yer hairy banjo
Fossil
-
-

Postby Icecube » Sat Oct 10, 2009 6:37 pm

That building is spectacular in my view and I have bother keeping my eyes off it when driving through Oxford St. Good luck with the project.
Icecube
Second Stripe
Second Stripe

Postby Ronnie » Sat Oct 10, 2009 8:15 pm

Possible sources of photographs: Historic Scotland, Royal Commission on the Historical Monuments of Scotland, Glasgow Room of the Mitchell Library, Glasgow City Archives. Che Camille was prevously in this building.
upupdowndownleftrightleftrightbastart
Ronnie
Third Stripe
Third Stripe

Postby DappDapp » Sun Oct 11, 2009 12:13 am

Thanks for all the replies, It's a really interesting building. built up by 4 different buildings by 6 architects.