Lost Football Grounds

Moderators: John, Sharon, Fossil, Lucky Poet, crusty_bint, Jazza, dazza

Lost Football Grounds

Postby kenny1986 » Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:49 pm

Hello everyone. I'm new to this forum and am having loads of fun trawling through all the old Glasgow stuff. I find all this stuff fascinating - always have done - and in my job as a delivery driver I see plenty of Glasgow and evidence of what once was part of our city.

Was wondering if anyone could help me out with a little project I'm working on. I'm looking for old pictures of junior football grounds in the city, particularly the ones I've listed at the bottom of this post. I've tried the Mitchell and haven't had a whole load of luck so far so any help is much appreciated.

I'm looking for old photos of:

Newlandsfield Park, Newburgh Street, Pollokshaws (Pollok FC)
Rosebery Park, Polmadie (Shawfield Juniors FC)
Heleslea Park, Helenvale Street, Parkhead (Parkhead Juniors FC)
Springfield Park, Springfield Road, Dalmarnock (Strathclyde Juniors FC)
Petershill Park, Petershill Road, Springburn (Petershill FC) (the old ground!)
Keppoch Park, Possil (Glasgow Perthshire FC)
Germiston Park (Vale of Clyde FC)

and any other junior grounds in the Greater Glasgow area.

Much appreciated

Kenny
kenny1986
Just settling in
Just settling in

Re: Lost Football Grounds

Postby Josef » Wed Feb 25, 2009 6:39 am

A cursory search of this site alone throws up at least two.

Shawfield Juniors and Petershill

There might well be more.

Schiehallion's link to the juniors site doesn't seem to work any more, though.
Josef
Third Stripe
Third Stripe

Postby kenny1986 » Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:24 pm