Mount Vernon Stadium

Moderators: John, Sharon, Fossil, Lucky Poet, crusty_bint, Jazza, dazza

Mount Vernon Stadium

Postby Apollo » Sun Jan 30, 2005 10:11 pm

Mount Vernon Stadium. Located just off Daldowie Road, now derelict and abandoned.

Aerial view: http://www1.getmapping.com/iePreview.as ... 8&size=500
Note the Roaming and Zoom options do not work for Firefox.

I have no knowledge of the stadium when it was in use, and only visited the site after years of seeing the name on maps, finally satisfying those years of curiosity about just what was there. Earlier maps showed it as a dog track, an this is confirmed by the various surviving remains.

Not the best of areas, visting seems best confined to Sundays. Dropping in at other times has usually found drunken neds having drinking parties in the remains of the old stands. The roadside is used as a dump, and it is adjacent to a small commercial waste disposal site.

The full set of 26 pics is temporarily available at http://tinyurl.com/43t2v

Quick panorama of the front of the stadium, with the remains of the entrance to the left, showing the complete loss of the boundary wall, perimeter buildings, and the use of the Daldowie Road as a dumping ground.

The entrance steps leading up from Daldowie Road

The steps leading up to the remains of the entrance. The boundary fence is gone.

The toilet area at the south side of the track, next to the stands.

Views east along the track, showing remains of lighting and and stand area.

Detail of the old insulators that used to carry the wiring.

General view of the remains of the stand area.

Scattered around the perimeter of the track, pieces of the guide rail that carried the mechanical hare can be found in various stages of decay.

As with all such places, a shame to see its loss, not only as a location, but as a reflection on the the changing social habits of the local population.
Apollo
Third Stripe
Third Stripe

Postby The_Clincher » Sun Jan 30, 2005 10:43 pm