Lost Comic Shops of Glasgow.

Moderators: John, Sharon, Fossil, Lucky Poet, crusty_bint, Jazza, dazza

Lost Comic Shops of Glasgow.

Postby JayKay » Wed Aug 06, 2008 1:10 pm

There was a stall selling American comics at the entrance to the 'Sloans' close in Argyle Street in the early/mid 80s. It was occasionally across the road at the corner with St Enoch's Square, but usually in the close entrance as it was shelted from the rain.

This was in pre-comic shop days, and was a lifeline for (american) comic afficinados in Glasgow as shops only ever got a random selection of US comics, so if you wanted to find out what happened to the X-men following last month's cliffhanger you normally had to get your skates on to the stall in the hope they had it in stock.
*value of posts can go down as well as up.
JayKay
Third Stripe
Third Stripe

Re: Lost Comic Shops of Glasgow

Postby dexter » Thu Oct 21, 2010 11:12 pm

Hi,
I'm a complete newbie first timer on this site. Does anyone remember a comic book shop on the Paisley Road near the toll in the late sixties?. It was called "Macs comics" I think, and it was demolished around 1968 or '69 along with the rest of the shops in that wee stretch of road, to make way for work being done on the Kingston bridge, or so I was told!! Harry Ramsdens was later built on the site. I'm a big comic book fan and I have fond memories of that shop.
dexter
Just settling in
Just settling in

Postby Dexter St. Clair » Thu Oct 21, 2010 11:44 pm

I thought it was nearer Kinning Park.
"I before E, except after C" works in most cases but there are exceptions.
Dexter St. Clair
Third Stripe
Third Stripe

Postby dexter » Fri Oct 22, 2010 10:16 pm